Tuesday, 29 September 2026UK news · Politics · Economy · Public services · SocietyAbout UsOur TeamSourcesContactNewsletter

David Lloyd Cost 2026: Membership Prices, Lawsuits & Value

Anyone who has circled a premium gym membership knows the feeling: the price looks steep, yet the facilities look irresistible — David Lloyd parks itself exactly on that fault line with 149 clubs, 898,000 members, and a brand built around tennis, pools and spa-level comfort. The same company, though, keeps surfacing in consumer complaints, an employment tribunal case, and financial disclosures with hundreds of millions in debt.

Founded: 1982 · Clubs: 149 · Members: 898,000+ · Employees: 13,000+ · Senior secured debt: £825m

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
  • The exact monthly fee at a given club is not officially published
  • Precise details of the reported legal action over fee increases are still emerging
  • Salary bands by role, and the founder’s personal net worth, are not officially disclosed
3Timeline signal
4What’s next
  • Watch whether the refinancing feeds another round of price increases (official case record)
  • Further tribunal decisions may clarify cancellation and collection practices (official case record)
  • Official materials may update club and member counts as 2026 progresses (official case record)

Seven facts, one pattern: the official record is strong on scale and debt, but thin on what members actually pay.

Fact Value
Founder David Lloyd, former professional tennis player and entrepreneur (David Lloyd Clubs About Us, official company profile)
Founded 1982
Network 149 clubs across the UK, Republic of Ireland and continental Europe; 898,000+ members; 13,000+ employees
Senior secured debt £825m sterling notes (2031), €530m euro notes (2032), £175m revolving credit facility (2031) (David Lloyd Clubs Investor Information, official debt disclosures)
Refinancing £1,295m new senior secured notes, completed 27 February 2026 (David Lloyd Clubs FY 2026 trading statement)
Reported pricing range £60–£150 per month; one reported renewal rose from £138 to £206
Public legal record Employment tribunal case ref 6012731/2025

How much does David Lloyd cost per month?

There is no published national price list, so the honest answer is a range with a warning label. Based on member reports and the brand’s premium positioning, a realistic monthly cost lands between £60 and £150, before any joining fee.

  • Standard membership: gym, pool and classes — commonly reported at the lower end of the £60–£150 range
  • Premium tiers: spa and racket sports added — commonly reported at the upper end
  • Top-end reports: independent commentary cited roughly £250 per month plus joining fees (LinkedIn Pulse, independent legal commentary)

One MoneySavingExpert member reported their renewal jumping from £138 to £206 — a 49% increase — after Friends & Family memberships were removed.

The catch

The reported £138-to-£206 renewal jump shows the “from” price is not the price you should budget for.

Why is David Lloyd expensive?

  • Facilities: the network markets 850 tennis courts, 150 swimming pools and roughly 10,000 classes a week — amenities most budget gyms cannot match (David Lloyd Clubs Investor Relations, official company hub)
  • Premium tiers: higher plans add spa access, racket sports and upgraded changing areas
  • Locations: clubs sit in affluent suburbs and commuter zones where real estate is expensive
  • Brand positioning: the company prices itself as a lifestyle brand, not a commodity gym

Those factors layer on top of each other. You are not paying for a treadmill; you are paying for a country-club-style environment, and the company prices accordingly.

Will David Lloyd membership prices increase in 2026?

What to watch

A membership business carrying £1,295m of new notes needs recurring revenue growth — and that pressure typically lands on renewal prices.

Members are already reporting 2026 increases. The MoneySavingExpert thread cited above documents a 49% renewal rise after a pricing-tier change.

The Telegraph’s consumer desk has also covered disputes over renewal pricing and whether memberships were fairly sold (The Telegraph, UK consumer-affairs reporting).

Corporate-side pressure points in the same direction: the February 2026 refinancing replaced old debt with £1,295m of new senior secured notes.

The implication: shoppers should treat any advertised “from” price as a door price, then negotiate the long-run renewal path in writing.

Bottom line: David Lloyd’s real monthly cost is local and tier-dependent, and renewal surprises are the norm. Budget for year-two prices, not the first-month teaser.

Why is David Lloyd being sued?

The company’s legal record is fragmented, but it is real. The clearest public document is an employment tribunal case, Miss T Foster v David Lloyd Leisure Ltd, listed as case 6012731/2025 on the UK government’s tribunal decisions portal (UK Government Employment Tribunal Decisions, official case record).

Independent legal commentary on LinkedIn reported four county court judgments issued against David Lloyd, which would indicate disputed debts that reached court.

Consumer coverage, meanwhile, has focused on membership contract disputes rather than personal injury or facility safety.

What this means

For consumers, the risk is not a headline scandal; it is a contract with collection teeth.

The pattern in the terms themselves is striking. Official David Lloyd contract language in the Netherlands states that overdue amounts can be handed to a debt collection agency, that non-judicial collection costs start at €40 plus interest, and that missing a payment does not automatically end the membership (David Lloyd Netherlands membership terms, official contract language). A third-party archive of similar terms repeats the same joint-liability and debt-collection language (Buddy Magazines, third-party terms archive).

The pattern: none of these disputes is a single consolidated class action, but together they show a company that enforces its contracts aggressively.

What is David Lloyd famous for?

The short answer: tennis, then the clubs that made the name a household brand. David Lloyd was a professional tennis player before he became an entrepreneur, and the company he founded in 1982 carries his name and his sport’s DNA (David Lloyd Clubs About Us, official company profile).

David Lloyd (tennis) career highlights

  • Professional tennis player before turning to business (David Lloyd Clubs About Us, official company profile)
  • Founded the first David Lloyd club in the UK in 1982 (David Lloyd Clubs About Us, official company profile)
  • The business now spans 149 clubs across the UK, Republic of Ireland and continental Europe (David Lloyd Clubs Investor Relations, official company hub)

Detailed statistics from his playing career are not itemized in the official company materials reviewed here, so his tennis biography reads as a prologue rather than the main story.

The founding of David Lloyd Clubs

The founder’s bet

A tennis-focused club that families would join, not just athletes.

The first club opened in 1982 in the UK, turning Lloyd’s tennis background into a membership business (David Lloyd Clubs About Us, official company profile). From that single site, the company grew into a European network, and the brand became shorthand for premium health and wellness — pools, racket courts, group classes and spa-style extras.

What this means: the name is the brand. Unlike anonymous budget chains, David Lloyd is a founder story, and that personal brand is part of what members pay for.

How much debt is David Lloyd in?

The official investor disclosures are unusually transparent. David Lloyd Clubs lists £825m of senior secured sterling notes due November 2031, €530m of senior secured floating-rate euro notes due November 2032, and a £175m revolving credit facility due May 2031.

On 27 February 2026, the company said it had repaid existing notes and completed a new refinancing structure comprising £1,295m of new senior secured notes.

David Lloyd’s debt structure at a glance

Four instruments: £825m sterling notes (2031) · €530m euro notes (2032) · £175m RCF (2031) · £1,295m new notes (2026)

Here is the breakdown of David Lloyd’s debt instruments.

Instrument Amount Maturity
Senior secured sterling notes £825m November 2031
Senior secured floating-rate euro notes €530m November 2032
Revolving credit facility £175m May 2031
New senior secured notes (2026 refinancing) £1,295m Not specified in the reviewed announcement

How much profit does David Lloyd make a year?

  • The official investor pages reviewed here disclose debt and refinancing, not a headline profit figure
  • The research brief cites company accounts with annual profit in the tens of millions of pounds
  • That figure is not reproduced here because it is not published in the official investor materials available

Profit matters because it sits on the other side of the balance sheet from £825m of notes. A business can be profitable and still carry heavy debt; the two are not contradictions.

How rich is David Lloyd?

  • The founder’s personal net worth is not disclosed in the official materials reviewed
  • His wealth is generally understood to come from founding the club chain and its later growth and sale — not from playing tennis

The trade-off: David Lloyd’s debt is a corporate structure, not a distress signal. But it explains constant pricing pressure.

Bottom line: David Lloyd carries hundreds of millions in secured debt and refinanced at a higher total in 2026. That structure is manageable, but it keeps the pressure on membership prices.

How much does a David Lloyd manager earn?

David Lloyd’s own materials say the company employs more than 13,000 people (David Lloyd Clubs About Us, official company profile). What those employees take home is less documented. The official investor pages reviewed for this article do not publish salary bands by role, so the figures below come from job-market estimates, not from the company.

How much do David Lloyd staff get paid?

  • General staff pay is commonly described as at or above minimum wage, varying by role and location
  • Manager roles are typically estimated at £30,000–£35,000 per year in third-party job data
  • Official pay bands: not publicly disclosed

The honest label on those numbers is “reported”, not “confirmed”. If you are job-hunting, treat them as a negotiation starting point, not a contract offer.

What does a manager at Greggs earn?

Context

Pay-comparison data routinely puts Greggs store-manager pay around £25,000–£30,000, which frames the David Lloyd range as comparable — not dramatically better.

The point is calibration. A manager at a premium gym chain reportedly earning around £30,000–£35,000 sits in the same band as a high-street food retail manager, despite the glamour of the brand.

Why this matters: if memberships cost £60–£150 a month, the casual assumption is that staff earn premium wages. The reported pay data says otherwise.

Is David Lloyd Gym worth it?

Value is a function of what you will actually use. David Lloyd’s network markets 850 tennis courts, 150 swimming pools and roughly 10,000 fitness classes a week (David Lloyd Clubs Investor Relations, official company hub). If racket sports and swimming are part of your routine, very few gyms compete at that scale.

David Lloyd vs other gyms: where the money goes

Three models: David Lloyd premium all-inclusive · budget chains low-price · regional premium clubs mid-market

Factor David Lloyd Budget chains (PureGym, The Gym Group) Premium regional clubs (e.g., Bannatyne’s)
Reported monthly fee £60–£150 Positioned as low-cost, typically well under £50 Mid-market, varies by site
Swimming pools 150 across the network (official company hub) Rarely included Often included
Tennis courts 850 across the network (official company hub) Not typical Some sites
Weekly classes ~10,000 marketed (official company hub) Smaller timetable Moderate
Contract flexibility Reported renewal and collection disputes (official contract language) Typically flexible Varies

Competitor columns reflect general market positioning rather than audited price lists; exact fees vary by location and promotion.

Member reviews and ratings

  • Complaints in consumer communities focus on renewal price jumps and contract rigidity
  • Positive feedback centers on facilities, particularly pools and tennis
  • Aggregate scores on review platforms vary by period and platform; the official research materials do not include a fixed score

The quality of the clubs is not really the debate. The dispute is whether the ongoing price — after tier changes and annual rises — matches the value.

Upsides

  • Premium facilities at scale: 150 pools, 850 tennis courts, ~10,000 weekly classes (official company hub)
  • Large network: 149 clubs across the UK, Ireland and continental Europe (official company hub)
  • Family-linked memberships for households that want one contract
  • Operational scale: 13,000+ staff across the group (official company profile)

Downsides

  • Reported monthly costs of £60–£150, with one reported renewal rise of 49%
  • Contract terms make linked members jointly liable and allow debt collection for missed payments (official contract language)
  • Public legal record includes an employment tribunal case and reported county court judgments
  • No official salary disclosure by role
The trade-off

A family that uses tennis, the pool and daily classes can justify the monthly fee on a per-use basis; a solo treadmill user is paying country-club prices for a locker-room experience.

The verdict on worth depends entirely on usage frequency. Divide the monthly fee by the number of visits and amenities you actually touch, then compare that number with a day-pass or budget gym.

What’s confirmed and what’s still unclear

Confirmed facts

  • Founded in 1982 (official company hub)
  • 149 clubs, 898,000+ members, 13,000+ employees (official company hub)
  • £825m sterling notes, €530m euro notes, £175m revolving credit facility (official debt disclosures)
  • £1,295m refinancing completed February 2026 (FY 2026 trading statement)
  • Employment tribunal case ref 6012731/2025 on the public record (official case record)
  • Official Dutch terms allow debt collection and joint liability for linked members (official contract language)

What’s unclear

  • Precise details of the reported legal action over fee increases are not fully documented in official records
  • Monthly pricing by club and tier is not published officially; the £60–£150 range relies on member reports
  • Salary data by role is not officially disclosed; manager figures are third-party estimates
  • Founder David Lloyd’s personal net worth is not publicly confirmed
  • The exact annual profit figure is not in the investor materials reviewed
  • Four county court judgments reported on LinkedIn have not been confirmed in official court summaries here
  • One third-party company profile reports liabilities-to-total-assets at 119%, but the underlying filing was not independently reviewed here
  • Whether the 2026 refinancing will push another round of price increases is unknown

What members and the company say

A David Lloyd member told The Telegraph that the renewal price had risen by significantly more than RPI and that they believed the membership had been mis-sold.

The Telegraph (UK consumer-affairs reporting)

A MoneySavingExpert member reported that their fee rose from £138 to £206 — a 49% increase — after Friends & Family memberships were removed.

MoneySavingExpert Forums (UK consumer community)

David Lloyd Clubs said it repaid existing Senior Secured Notes and HoldCo PIK Notes, completing a new refinancing structure comprising £1,295 million of new Senior Secured Notes.

David Lloyd Clubs FY 2026 trading statement (official announcement)

Independent legal commentary reported four county court judgments issued against David Lloyd, describing the brand as charging around £250 per month plus joining fees at the top end.

LinkedIn Pulse (independent legal commentary)

Summary: David Lloyd is what it is: a premium, facility-heavy club network whose reported costs and contract terms deserve scrutiny before you sign. For UK households weighing a £60–£150 monthly membership, the decision is clear — audit your actual usage, compare the all-inclusive amenities against a budget gym, and read the linked-member liability clauses before anyone in your family puts pen to paper; otherwise the contract, not the club, will set the terms of your membership.

Related reading: Eddie Hall: 500kg Deadlift, Boxing Career, Net Worth, and Height · Jessica Ennis-Hill: Olympic Champion, Family, Net Worth, and Life Now

Additional sources

pomanda.com, reddit.com

Frequently asked questions

What facilities come with a David Lloyd membership?

The network markets 850 tennis courts, 150 swimming pools and roughly 10,000 classes a week across 149 clubs. Standard membership typically includes gym and pool access; premium tiers add spa and racket sports. Exact inclusions vary by club.

Can I get a free trial at David Lloyd?

The official materials reviewed for this article do not describe a blanket free-trial offer. Clubs commonly invite prospective members for a tour; treat any “free” access as a sales conversation, and read the contract terms before signing.

How do I cancel my David Lloyd membership?

There is no uniform cancellation policy in the reviewed materials. The official membership terms warn that missing payments does not automatically end the membership, so cancellation should be requested in writing and confirmed before you stop paying.

Does David Lloyd offer discounts for students or families?

Family-linked memberships exist, but the official terms make every signatory jointly responsible for the whole agreement, including linked members’ fees. Discounts vary by club and are not published centrally.

How does David Lloyd compare with other premium gyms?

The comparison table above shows the trade-off: David Lloyd offers tennis courts and pools at scale, while budget chains compete on price and regional clubs sit in between. Your choice depends on which facilities you will actually use.

What is the minimum contract length at David Lloyd?

The reviewed materials do not state a single minimum length. The reported renewal disputes suggest annual contracts are common, and the terms emphasize that a missed payment is not a cancellation.

Are there any joining fees at David Lloyd?

Independent commentary reported the brand charging around £250 per month plus joining fees at the top end, suggesting fees exist but vary by location and promotion.

Can I access multiple David Lloyd clubs with one membership?

David Lloyd operates 149 clubs across the UK, Ireland and continental Europe. Whether one membership unlocks all clubs depends on your tier and local terms; the official materials reviewed do not specify a universal multi-club policy.



Arthur Oliver Howard Fletcher
Arthur Oliver Howard FletcherStaff Writer

Arthur Oliver Howard Fletcher is a staff writer for NationalReport.uk, covering UK national news, politics, the economy and public services. He works under Editor-in-Chief Andreas Christodoulou and UK Managing Editor Rebecca Morgan, following the newsroom standards for sourcing, verification and fact-checking set out in our editorial policies.